The history of the Nikkosan Rinno-Ji Temple started 1200 years ago, when Shodo Shonin (Saint Shodo),, who firstly served as the head priest of Nikko, founded the Shihonryuji Temple. Sanbutsudo Hall, the main temple, is one of the largest wooden architectures in Nikkousan, and houses Buddhist statues respectively symbolizing honchibutsu (original Buddhist divinity), of the holy three mountains in Nikko, such as Senju-Kannon (Kannon with a thousand arms: honchibutsu of Mt. Nantaisan), Amidanyorai (Amitabha Tathagata: honchibutsu of Mt. Nyohousan), and Bato-Kannon (Kannon with a horse head: honchibutsu o Mt. Tarosan),, which is 8m tall. In addition to the above, there are still many spots that visitors should not miss: such as the Gomado Hall that houses the statues of the gods of fortune such as Bishamonten, Daikokuten and Benzaiten; temple’s treasure house that exhibits the statues of Buddha and sutras registered as the national treasures or important cultural properties; Shoyoen garden, a Japanese-style garden that features a path around a pond.
* The Sanbutsudo Hall is currently undergoing major renovation works, which are scheduled to last until March 2021. During this period, the special path for viewing the inside of Sanbutsudo Hall from a height of 26m is available.